Just received this email from a friend… and I am now really annoyed!

Dear All,

Few weeks ago, some of us tasted the famous Tiger Beer Chilli Crab at Bricks Lane. I understand there are some disappointment over the cooking.

Yesterday, I met up with the Manager in Kiasu and provided them the feedback. I was told they have to tone down the level of chilli as instructed by the Management Company that organised the event. In fact they were being advised there would be more Western tourists!

So, here is another chance for chilli crab. Kiasu restaurant has already introduced Chilli Crab into the menu. They are in the process of drawing up a new menu but do not hesitate to ask for Chilli Crab even if it is not on the menu yet. If you have any chance of trying the chilli crab in Kiasu, please share with us your experience.

For those who do not know where Kiasu restaurant is, here is the information :

Kiasu Restaurant
48 Queensway, Bayswater
London W2 3RY
Tel : 0207 727 8810

I hope this update will be useful to all of you.

Regards

Well, this update is not only useful, it’s annoying as well!

I don’t know who is telling the truth. I’m not sure if the restaurant was really asked to toned down but anyway….

How can you say you want to organise a Singapore food festival when you are serving “toned down” Singapore food?!?!?!

And it’s not just the bloody chilli crabs! It’s the chicken rice and char kway teow as well! Who the hell wants to go to Singapore for a salty chicken rice and a bland char kway teow? Someone with no sense of taste, perhaps?!

I don’t think I will go for any events organised by the STB or anything to do with Singapore food because i know i’ll be so disappointed… unless .. they fly in REAL hawkers from Singapore and they must cook their food in their white singlet!

I’m going to tell every single friend of mine not to go for such events anymore because it’s not real Singapore food. Heck, I’m sure I can cook better than that.. I just need some practice! I’m sure my char kway teow will not be that tasteless like the one that was sold for £5 0r was it £3.50? Whatever lah, it was quite expensive for that small portion.

Argh! This is just plain ridiculous! Selling “toned down” Singaporean food to thousands of people hoping to attract them to Singapore! Please lah!